Book Reviews

Ruthless Magic by Megan Crewe (ARC review)

🌟 4 stars 🌟

Happy release day! This book is basically what you would get if you mixed The Hunger Games and Harry Potter together. If you’re looking for an action-packed fantasy with diverse characters then this book is right up your alley.

Blurb:

In the contest to keep their magic, the only options may be die… or kill.

Each year, the North American Confederation of Mages assesses every sixteen-year-old novice. Some will be chosen. The rest must undergo a procedure to destroy their magical ability unless they prove themselves in the mysterious and brutal Mages’ Exam.

Disadvantaged by her parents’ low standing, Rocío Lopez has dedicated herself to expanding her considerable talent to earn a place in the Confederation. Their rejection leaves her reeling—and determined to fight to keep her magic.

Long ashamed of his mediocre abilities, Finn Lockwood knows the Confederation accepted him only because of his prominent family. Declaring for the Exam instead means a chance to confirm his true worth.

Thrown into the testing with little preparation, Rocío and Finn find themselves becoming unlikely allies—and possibly more. But the Exam holds secrets more horrifying than either could have imagined. What are the examiners really testing them for? And as the trials become increasingly vicious, how much are they willing to sacrifice to win?

 

The first in a new series by USA Today bestselling author Megan Crewe, Ruthless Magic combines the magic of Harry Potter with the ferocity of The Hunger Games alongside a poignant romance. Fans of Cassandra Clare and Holly Black, look no further for your next urban fantasy fix!”

“They can’t touch anything that’s in our heads and our hearts, not if we don’t let them.”

This book took a little bit to get into before I was hooked with the storyline, however I still feel like the plot was missing something. I think it may just be that the book did not feel as fast-paced as I expected it to be when I went into it.

The magical world this book takes place in was what had drawn me into this book in the first place. It kind of reminded me of Harry Potter, except unlike Hogwarts, the College is exclusive and people that do not get into the school risk losing their magic forever. The rejects are given a second chance at a spot in the College if they can pass the Exam. 

The main characters both declare for the Mages’ Exam yet no one knows what goes on in it, so they have no way of knowing what they are getting themselves into. Throughout this book, it shows the trials they have to face and the extent they will go to to keep their magic.

I enjoyed the character development, specifically Rocio and Finn’s relationship. Falling in love as they face death at every corner; how romantic! Rocio and Finn’s relationship reminds me of what Draco and Hermione could have been from Harry Potter if JK Rowling had decided to go down that path. Rocio comes from “new magic”, people whose families have only had magic for a short period of time, while Finn comes from “old magic”, where magic runs deep in his family. Amidst the trials of the Exam, Finn unlearns his prejudices and realizes how unjustified it was for him to think people that came from new magic were beneath him.

The ending felt a little anti-climatic, but I’m still eager to read the next book in the series. This book was a good read overall! Thanks Netgalley for approving me as well as allowing me to read and review this book!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *